.

CPA Is Here Whether We Like It Or Not

Committee creation is the critical part of the process.

Let me state clearly here, I did not not vote for the Community Preservation Act. To me it is a tax poorly disguised as community initiative.

None of that matters now. The CPA passed, it is here and a fact of life in Salem. Sometime after the New Year a committee will have to be formed to administer the program. This committee will be established by ordnance or by-law. The ordnance or by-law will also define the term lengths for committee members.

This will be done by the city council with input from the Mayor's office.

This committee is required by statute to have a minimum of five members. Those five  must be "designated representatives of the following five municipal boards: the Conservation Commission, the Planning Board, the Historical Commission, the Housing Authority, and the Board of Park Commissioners."  There can be no deviation from this.

The city is allowed to seat up to four additional members. These can be drawn at the" discretion of the community and can be from the public, from local government, or from other municipal boards or committees." 

Simply put the committee can be as few as the five required members, or it can be six, seven, eight or nine members.

The four additional members can be either appointed, or elected. That is where this gets interesting. 

How many, if any additional members should be added to the required five? Should they be appointed or elected?

It would preferable to see the committee comprised of the maximum of nine members. The more debate and input involved in the decisions to be made the better those decisions will be for the city and the more informed the public will be. 

The additional four members should not be drawn from any current elected or appointed boards or commissions. This committee should represent the community as broadly as possible. The best way to insure constant and across the board community input would be to draw the four members from the community itself. 

These four positions can be "appointed or elected at the discretion of the community."

Let's put them on the ballot. 

If the community is truly to have a consistent voice in how the CPA funds are allocated what better way is there than to hear the voice of the people during the election cycle? By having these four positions on the ballot we will have a fresh and honest public conversation on where and how the monies are being allocated every time we vote.

The election may be over, but there is still debate to come and decisions to be made. Your opinion and your voice can still be heard.

Don't let silence rule the day. Let your voice be heard and maybe this CPA thing won't be the monster that many of you believe it to be.

http://www.communitypreservation.org/content/text-legislation

Joey Parshley November 12, 2012 at 02:19 PM
your link to the text is broken. There was an extraneous '.' at the end of it, here is the proper link: http://www.communitypreservation.org/content/text-legislation
Owen Boss (Editor) November 12, 2012 at 02:22 PM
Thanks for letting us know Joey! The problem has been fixed.
Cwheels November 12, 2012 at 04:38 PM
Who gets the finial say on how many seats the board will have and how they will be filled? I agree that the maximum amount of seats should be used but only if they are elected by us. I voted against the CPA but respect the voice of the people, now its time to make sure the money raised from this new tax is truly spent improving our city. The only way this will happen is if our community continues to have it's voice heard.
William Legault November 12, 2012 at 05:09 PM
The city council writes all ordnances and bylaws.
Carolyn Costain November 12, 2012 at 06:24 PM
Obama promised "Not to raise taxes and that property taxes will not go up!" Salem just voted to screw more home owners by placing a surcharge on property taxes that will raise our taxes! The money they need should come out of the funds raised by tourism not the residents that pay high enough taxes in this city!
chester suchecki November 12, 2012 at 08:43 PM
i would like to see elections of non political connected citizens of salem. the first person that comes to mind is bill legault. he is a true honestman about town who would work for the citizens not the politicians. we all know the mayor and the city council are going to fill this board with cronies so lets at least start with an even board.
john November 12, 2012 at 10:31 PM
The taxpayers voted for it not the city
john November 12, 2012 at 10:44 PM
When I was a kid Salem had park instructors during the summer. They supplied kids with all kinds of athletic equipment to have fun in the city parks.We also had city employees who took care of the parks and even cleaned the ice at places like the pond at Pioneer Village during the winter. Kids today spend very little time in our parks. The city has done everything possible to discourage people from using parks. Stickers for certain parks and parking meters at others. How will Salem use this money with regard to parks and open space? Maybe have a security officer at Lafayette Park and across from the post office? Winter Island is a dump and has been for 20 years and we already have to pay to get in!
John Merrett November 12, 2012 at 11:49 PM
"Smart Growth", "Sustained Development", CPA tax ,all part f UN Agenda 21. I urge every Salem resident to learn exactly what Agenda 21 is and how it will effect you and yes , ..it will most certainly effect you. YouTube has some very good videos and here is a link to a website that will help. http://americanfreedomwatchradio.com/?page_id=260 If Salem residents want sustained development,...Great, they are the ones to decide, not the UN. Residents are told, don't worry, you will have input in the decisions, but that is a lie, because the plan is already laid out and the outcomes decided. PLEASE LEARN ABOUT THIS ISSUE, I BEG YOU!
Mike Lash November 13, 2012 at 02:27 PM
I voted yes to this "tax" and I hate group think. That being said, the City should only appoint two individuals to the committee. They can inform the group of area concerns yet still not "take over" the majority. As to election, ( "Elections of non political connected citizens of Salem" ) is just wrong. Why would a non political citizen run? We need people from within the City who care enough to voice their opinion. Bill is a good choice, however, does he qualify while being the opinion writer for the patch?
John Merrett November 13, 2012 at 02:40 PM
God help us.
Bill November 13, 2012 at 02:59 PM
Wonder how many people voted for the tax and spend trio of Obama, Warren and Tierney and then No on the CPA in both Salem and Beverly - i bet a bunch. Always easy to be generous with other people's money. I voted against the three stooges and yes for the CPA. At least my money will have an impact on my life as opposed to the money I send to DC and down the drain.
gene November 13, 2012 at 03:41 PM
The CPA was put forth as a Prop 2 1/2 end run. Romney, Brown, and Tisei were put forth as an end run around good sense
Bill November 13, 2012 at 03:51 PM
I'll count gene in the camp of putting other people's money where his mouth is
John Merrett November 13, 2012 at 04:13 PM
Voting for Obama or Warren or the CPA "surcharge" on property tax is the same, no matter how you try to justify it, you are spending other peoples money. The people who voted for question 4 clearly are misinformed as to the larger picture. Salem is unique and the idea that you can adopt Agenda 21, a global model with no regard for property rights whose pack and stack shoe box apartments for all is part of their agenda, the very idea you can merge the two and the outcome will be good for Salem is ridiculous. Agenda 21 is not some sort of conspiracy talk, you can look it up right on the UN website. The UN knew it would be difficult to sell as Agenda 21, so during the Clinton administration, they adopted names like Smart Growth, Sustained Development and Community Preservation Act , so it was easier to sell,...I mean, who could be against those things right? Knowledge is Power.
KlassySalem November 13, 2012 at 06:00 PM
http://ui.uncc.edu/story/un-agenda-21-republican-gaston-county-mecklenburg-transit-sustainable
KlassySalem November 13, 2012 at 06:03 PM
http://www.theatlanticwire.com/politics/2012/06/inside-agenda-21-international-tyranny-bike-lanes/53844/
John Merrett November 13, 2012 at 07:04 PM
CPA Is Here Whether We Like It Or Not Everyone is a winner!,..well,...except Salem residents and property rights and the Constitution,,...but we won!, yeah, a new tax, or fee or surcharge!
windpower November 13, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Kind of makes you think twice when asked for donations to a charity ,By the way charities are really suffering from reduce giving . Nice to see Beverly raising funds outside of their CPA for Patton park .
Bill November 13, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Patton Park is in Hamilton. You will see a drop off in charitable giving. The masses spoke and they want government to take care of them. I gave at the office.
windpower November 13, 2012 at 10:56 PM
Thanks Bill I stand corrected
John Merrett November 14, 2012 at 12:26 AM
A Government big enough to give you everything you want, Is big enough to take everything you have.
John Merrett November 14, 2012 at 12:29 AM
Socialism fails because eventually you run out of other peoples money.
Carolyn Costain November 14, 2012 at 01:24 AM
I like how my truthful comment was edited out, when it was " a fact" that I was lied to by the person bringing around the petition that this would not cost the home owners in property tax or cause any tax to go up! I did not sign it anyways! We have 3 boards that should be handling this in our city ,"so why are they going to create another board to cost us more money in property taxes?"
Antoine M. Boisvert November 16, 2012 at 12:49 AM
I like the CPA. And its in. I could explain why I like it, but why waste my breath? So have fun whining about it. Buh-bye.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something